National Drug Strategy
National Drug Strategy

Comorbidity of mental disorders and substance use: a brief guide for the primary care clinician


prev pageTOC |next page

Table of contents

The original version of "Comorbidity of mental disorders and substance use: A brief guide for the primary care clinician" (the Guidelines) was funded by the Commonwealth Department of Health and Ageing in 2002, under a joint initiative of the National Drug Strategy and The National Mental Health Strategy. It was written by Dr Chris Holmwood in conjunction with the Primary Mental Health Care Australian Resource Centre (PARC) based in the Department of General Practice at Flinders University. PARC must be acknowledged for their contribution of resources to the original document.

Dr Chris Wurm (National Centre for Education and Training on Addiction), Associate Professor Chris Alderman (Drug and Therapeutics Information Service, Repatriation General Hospital) and Ms Jody Braddon (Pharmacist, Drug and Therapeutics Information Service) must also be acknowledged for their contributions to the original document.

Thanks must go to Damian McCabe who was the Project Officer for the original 2001 Comorbidity Scoping Study. The need for the original version of this clinical resource arose as a result of this initial work.

In order for the Guidelines to remain a useful and current resource for general practitioners, it was decided by the Department of Health and Ageing to review and update them.

The revised Guidelines are funded by the Department of Health and Ageing under the National Comorbidity Initiative.

The revision of the original Guidelines was undertaken by Drug and Alcohol Services South Australia (DASSA) with Dr Andrea Gordon as the Author and coordinating Research Officer and Dr Chris Holmwood as the Project Manager.

The revision and update of this management resource would not have been possible without the assistance and contribution of those members of the reference group and other major contributors:

Ms Maxie Ashton (Seaton Mental Health Site, Central Northern Adelaide Health Service)
Associate Professor Michael Baigent (Department of Psychiatry, Flinders University)
Dr Peter Donohoe (Australian General Practice Network)
Dr Linda Gowing (DASSA) Evidence-Based Practice Unit/Discipline of Pharmacology, University of Adelaide)
Dr Les Koopowitz (Department of Psychiatry, University of Adelaide), and
Professor Jason White (Discipline of Pharmacology, University of Adelaide).

prev pageTOC |next page